The Community Action House Board


John Johnston •  President

John is serving his first term on the Board. John is a native of Northern Ireland and has lived in Holland, Michigan for ten years. John is an entrepreneur and is involved in starting businesses and helping businesses grow. John serves as the Chair of the CAH Program Committee.


Leroy Hernandez •  Vice President

Leroy is serving his first term on the Board. Leroy was the Executive Director for Community Action House from 1990 to 2003. Leroy is a member of the Program Committee. He is also the Executive Director of the Macatawa Resouce Center, works a licensed Realtor in the Holland area, and was previously employed as a Program Coordinator for LAUP.


David Nyitray •  Secretary

David is in his first term as a board member. He serves on both the Human Resources and Development Committees. David is the Development Director for the Outdoor Discovery Center Macatawa Greenway


Dan Becksvoort•  Treasurer

Dan is serving his first term on the Board. He is the chair of the Finance Committee. Dan is a Vice President and Commercial Lender at Chemical Bank.


Carol Stroop•  Past President

Carol is a member of the Program and Human Resource Committees. Carol worked 35 years for West Ottawa Schools as an elementary teacher and is now retired.


Brian Pageau

Brian is serving his first term on the Board. He is Chair of the Development Committee and Co-Chaired our annual Golf Outing Committee. Brian is General Manager at Midwest Energy Group.


Joel Van Veen

Joel is serving his first term on the Board. He is a member of the Finance Committee. Joel is a Certified Public Accountant and works for AGC.


Krish Knittel

Krish is serving her first term on the Board. She is a member of the Development Committee. Krish served as a docent at the Holland Museum for ten years, and worked as a dental assistance for ten years. 


Carol LoPresti

Carol has served on the board since March of 2016. She is a member of the Executive Committee and Human Resource Committee. Carol served as Vice President of Human Resources at Beacon Services for many years.


Dave Schuitema 

Dave is a new board member. Dave is the Chief Financial Officer at Lakewood Construction. Dave previously served on the Board of Directors for Barnabas Ministries. Dave is a member of the Finance Committee.


Dan Chmura

Dan has been a board member since 2014.  At his day job, he is part of the sales team at TMI Compressed Air Systems.  Previously, Dan spent 9 years working for non-profit organizations in Holland and Zeeland.  Dan is a member of the Program Committee.  


Esther Fifelski

Esther is Human and International Relations Manager at the City of Holland.  She also serves as the Title VI Coordinator to assure the City meets all state and federal guidelines.  Her work focuses on promoting and celebrating community and assuring all citizens have equal opportunity and access to city services.   Esther serves on the Finance/Development committee, and has been with CAH since 2016.


Melissa Villarreal

Dr. Melissa Villarreal is an assisted professor for the School of Social Work at Grand Valley State University (GVSU).  Prior to GVSU, she was a full-time faculty specialist at Western Michigan University (WMU) who taught for their Bachelor of Science in Interdisciplinary Health Services program for three years.  Prior to WMU, Dr. Villarreal taught at Hope College for twelve years.

With regard to Dr. Villarreal's clinical skills and experience, she worked in the field for several years as a child & family therapist, domestic violence therapist, probation officer for adolescents, child guidance worker for a juvenile home, outreach clinician for status offenders, and as a clinical case manager for teen parents.  Furthermore, she worked as a campus counselor at Hope College serving mostly female students.  Moreover, Dr. Villarreal's dissertation work was a qualitative investigation of Latinas’ Reasons and Experiences of Sexual Assault Disclosure. Melissa began serving on the CAH board in 2016.